Chart of health care services delivered by commissioners and providers in central LancashireHealth and care services in central Lancashire are delivered by a range of commissioners and providers.

  • Primary Care
  • Lancashire County Council and District Councils
  • Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust
  • Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • NHS Clinical Commissioning Groups (Greater Preston and Chorley and South Ribble
  • Voluntary, Community and Faith SectorLA

Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (opens in a new window) delivers services across two main sites (Chorley and South Ribble Hospital and Royal Preston Hospital) and also from a mobility rehabilitation centre. The hospital trust provides both local and district general hospital services to Greater Preston, Chorley and South Ribble, and also a significant number of specialised services (such as cancer, disablement services, major trauma, neurosurgery and neurology, renal, vascular). These services cover a wider population of 1.6 million people across Lancashire, and include the regional trauma centre at the Royal Preston Hospital site.

Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust (opens in a new window) provides an integrated community and mental health service, with community services commissioned by the Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs). Its services span a geographical area that encompasses 1.4 million people, and includes services within the remit of adult community, adult mental health and children and families.

There are two CCGs in our area; Greater Preston CCG (opens in a new window) and Chorley and South Ribble CCG (opens in a new window). The CCGs have full delegated responsibility from NHS England to commission GP primary medical services, while NHS England commissions specialised services directly.

The North West Ambulance Service (opens in a new window) (NWAS) provides accident and emergency services to those in need of emergency medical treatment and transport, 365 days a year. NWAS also provides non-emergency patient transport services (opens in a new window) for those patients who require non-emergency transport to and from hospital and who are unable to travel unaided because of their medical condition or clinical need. The NHS 111 helpline and online service is also delivered by NWAS too.

Social care services are commissioned and provided by Lancashire County Council (opens in a new window), which has a responsibility for the delivery of the health and wellbeing strategy in Lancashire. Its geographical area spans all of Lancashire, and there are also three district councils, Chorley Council (opens in a new window), South Ribble Borough Council (opens in a new window) and Preston City Council (opens in a new window).

A range of other NHS and independent providers also deliver services for residents, with 117 residential and nursing homes across the two CCG areas equating to 3,791 beds.

There are 30 GP practices in Chorley and South Ribble, and a further 25 practices in Greater Preston. The practices have come together to form seven networks, each with populations of 30,000 – 50,000. ‘Integrated Care Teams’ will be developed on the same footprints. A primary care organisation that spans across all practices within central Lancashire is emerging. 

Our voluntary, community and social enterprise (VCSE) partners have formed the central Lancashire VCSE Leaders Partnership (opens in a new window), made up of senior leaders from organisations and networks across the area to actively participate in shaping our plans. 

Accessibility tools

Return to header