Navigation Menu Icon

Acute and Specialised

Specialised services are provided in only a few hospitals and used by only small numbers of patients.

These include a range of services from renal dialysis and secure inpatient mental health services, through to treatments for rare cancers and life threatening genetic disorders.

There are four factors which are considered when deciding whether a service is described as specialised, these are:

  • The number of individuals who require the service
  • The cost of providing the service or facility
  • The number of people able to provide the service or facility and
  • The financial implications for Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) if they need to make adjustments and new arrangements in order to provide the service.  

The ambition of NHS England is to ensure that decisions about providing specialist care and treatment are good and fair. This is achieved through a process which:

  • Is aligned with the priorities of NHS England as set out within the NHS Mandate and the strategic way forward within the Five Year Forward View
  • Is patient-centred and outcome based. The patient must be placed at the centre of planning and delivery. Commissioners, working with providers, must deliver improved outcomes for them across each of the five domains of the 2013/14 NHS Outcomes Framework
  • Is fair and consistent throughout the country, ensuring that patients have equal access to services regardless of their location, and;
  • Improves value, productivity and efficiency.

In Lancashire and South Cumbria 

Click on the links below to find out more about the work taking place in those areas in Lancashire and South Cumbria