Navigation Menu Icon

Glossary of terms

On this website and in our documents we have tried to speak in plain English to make these as easy to understand as possible. Here is a list of terms which may have been used or that you may have heard used and an explanation of what they mean.


This refers to the Sustainability and Transformation Partnership. There are 44 STP areas across England and in Lancashire and South Cumbria this is a programme called Healthier Lancashire and South Cumbria. Before March 31st 2017, STP was often referred to as the Sustainability and Transformation Plan. More detail on this can be found here.


This is a Local Delivery Partnership, working together within an area for the Lancashire and South Cumbria programme. There are five of these - Fylde Coast, Morecambe Bay, Pennine Lancashire, Central Lancashire and West Lancashire. More information about these can be found here

Better Care Together

Better Care Together is the name for the work being carried out in Morecambe Bay. More information about these can be found here

Together: A Healthier Future

Together: A Healthier Future is the name for the work being carried out in Pennine Lancashire. More information about these can be found here

Our Health, Our Care

Our Health, Our Care is the name for the work being carried out throughout Greater Preston, Chorley and South Ribble. More information can be found here


Between January and September 2015, 50 vanguards were selected to take a lead on the development of new care models which will act as the blueprints for the NHS moving forward and the inspiration to the rest of the health and care system.


This stands for Multispecialty Community Provider which is a type of vanguard moving specialist care out of hospitals into the community.


An Accountable Care System brings together a number of providers to take responsibility for the cost and quality of care for a defined population within an agreed budget. An ACS is currently being developed in Fylde Coast before spreading across the rest of Lancashire and South Cumbria


This is the process of planning, agreeing and monitoring services.


Clinical Commissioning Groups are clinically-led statutory NHS bodies responsible for the planning and commissioning of health care services for their local area.


The Care Quality Commission monitor, inspect and regulate health and social care services. They then publish their findings, including ratings to help people choose care.

Primary care

Primary care is the first point of contact for healthcare for most people. It is mainly provided by GPs (general practitioners) but community pharmacists, opticians, dentists and other community services are also primary healthcare providers.

If you have heard or read a term or phrase which is not on this list that you would like explaining, please email

Hide this section
Show accessibility tools